24/7 call for a free consultation 212-300-5196

AS SEEN ON

EXPERIENCEDTop Rated

YOU MAY HAVE SEEN TODD SPODEK ON THE NETFLIX SHOW
INVENTING ANNA

When you’re facing a federal issue, you need an attorney whose going to be available 24/7 to help you get the results and outcome you need. The value of working with the Spodek Law Group is that we treat each and every client like a member of our family.

Client Testimonials

5

THE BEST LAWYER ANYONE COULD ASK FOR.

The BEST LAWYER ANYONE COULD ASK FOR!!! Todd changed our lives! He’s not JUST a lawyer representing us for a case. Todd and his office have become Family. When we entered his office in August of 2022, we entered with such anxiety, uncertainty, and so much stress. Honestly we were very lost. My husband and I felt alone. How could a lawyer who didn’t know us, know our family, know our background represents us, When this could change our lives for the next 5-7years that my husband was facing in Federal jail. By the time our free consultation was over with Todd, we left his office at ease. All our questions were answered and we had a sense of relief.

schedule a consultation

Blog

What is the Standard of Review in Federal Criminal Appeals?

March 21, 2024 Uncategorized

 

What is the Standard of Review in Federal Criminal Appeals?

So your probably wondering, what the heck is the “standard of review” in a federal criminal appeal anyway? Well, don’t worry, I’ll break it down for you. Basically, it refers to how closely the appeals court looks at the lower court’s decision. They don’t just redo the whole trial – they kind of have to defer to what the trial judge and jury decided. But they don’t just rubber stamp everything either. So how closely do they look? Well, it depends.

Clearly Erroneous for Facts

For factual issues, appeals courts use what’s called the “clearly erroneous” standard. That means they have to accept the trial court’s findings of fact unless they think they screwed up badly. Like, made a mistake that’s totally obvious from the record. But if their’s reasonable disagreement about what the facts show, the appeals court pretty much has to side with the trial judge (the finder of fact). So their’s a presumption that the trial court got the facts right.

De Novo for Law

But for legal issues, appeals courts use “de novo” review – that means no deference. They look at the law fresh and make their own judgement. Because trial judges don’t get any special say on what the law is – that’s for appeals courts to figure out. So if their’s a dispute about interpreting a statute or applying a Supreme Court case or something, appeals courts won’t defer. They’ll just decide for themselves what the law means.

Plain Error for Stuff Not Objected To

Their’s also “plain error” review. That’s for stuff the defense lawyer didn’t object to at trial when they were supposed to. Because you can’t just stay silent about errors at trial and then scream about them on appeal later. You gotta speak up when it happens! But if their was an obvious, serious screw-up that affected substantial rights, appeals courts can notice that even without an objection. But the bar is really high – it’s gotta jump out as an obvious miscarriage of justice from the record.

Harmless Error Unless It Affected the Outcome

And one more – even if their was an error, appeals courts won’t reverse unless it actually impacted the outcome. Under “harmless error” review, mistakes that don’t affect substantial rights get ignored. So if the result would’ve been the same either way, no redo. But if the error possibly changed the result, then yeah, it gets sent back for a new trial.

What Gets Reviewed Depends on the Issue

So in summary, it depends – factual issues get “clearly erroneous” review, legal questions get fresh “de novo” review, stuff not objected to at trial has to be “plain error”, and even errors that happened might be “harmless.” The standard changes based on what the issue is. But basically, appeals courts have to show some deference to the trial proceedings unless stuff went really wrong. It’s not just a total do-over.

Christine Twomey
Christine Twomey
2024-03-21
Just had my Divorce case settled 2 months ago after having a horrible experience with another firm. I couldn’t be happier with Claire Banks and Elizabeth Garvey with their outstanding professionalism in doing so with Spodek Law Group. Any time I needed questions answered they were always prompt in doing so with all my uncertainties after 30 yrs of marriage.I feel from the bottom of my heart you will NOT be disappointed with either one. Thanks a million.
Brendan huisman
Brendan huisman
2024-03-18
Alex Zhik contacted me almost immediately when I reached out to Spodek for a consultation and was able to effectively communicate the path forward/consequences of my legal issue. I immediately agreed to hire Alex for his services and did not regret my choice. He was able to cover my case in court (with 1 day notice) and not only was he able to push my case down, he carefully negotiated a dismissal of the charge altogether. I highly recommend Spodek, and more specifically, Alex Zhik for all of your legal issues. Thanks guys!
Guerline Menard
Guerline Menard
2024-03-18
Thanks again Spodek law firm, particularly Esq Claire Banks who stood right there with us up to the finish line. Attached photos taken right outside of the court building and the smile on our faces represented victory, a breath of fresh air and satisfaction. We are very happy that this is over and we can move on with our lives. Thanks Spodek law 🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼🙏🏼🙌🏼❤️
Keisha Parris
Keisha Parris
2024-03-15
Believe every single review here about Alex Z!! From our initial consultation, it was evident that Alex possessed a profound understanding of criminal law and a fierce dedication to his clients rights. Throughout the entirety of my case, Alex exhibited unparalleled professionalism and unwavering commitment. What sets Alex apart is not only his legal expertise but also his genuine compassion for his clients. He took the time to thoroughly explain my case, alleviating any concerns I had along the way. His exact words were “I’m not worried about it”. His unwavering support and guidance were invaluable throughout the entire process. I am immensely grateful for Alex's exceptional legal representation and wholeheartedly recommend his services to anyone in need of a skilled criminal defense attorney. Alex Z is not just a lawyer; he is a beacon of hope for those navigating the complexities of the legal system. If you find yourself in need of a dedicated and competent legal advocate, look no further than Alex Z.
Taïko Beauty
Taïko Beauty
2024-03-15
I don’t know where to start, I can write a novel about this firm, but one thing I will say is that having my best interest was their main priority since the beginning of my case which was back in Winter 2019. Miss Claire Banks, one of the best Attorneys in the firm represented me very well and was very professional, respectful, and truthful. Not once did she leave me in the dark, in fact she presented all options and routes that could possibly be considered for my case and she reinsured me that no matter what I decided to do, her and the team will have my back and that’s exactly what happened. Not only will I be liberated from this case, also, I will enjoy my freedom and continue to be a mother to my first born son and will have no restrictions with accomplishing my goals in life. Now that’s what I call victory!! I thank the Lord, My mother, Claire, and the Spodek team for standing by me and fighting with me. Words can’t describe how grateful I am to have the opportunity to work with this team. I’m very satisfied, very pleased with their performance, their hard work, and their diligence. Thank you team!
Anthony Williams
Anthony Williams
2024-03-12
Hey, how you guys doing? Good afternoon my name is Anthony Williams I just want to give a great shout out to the team of. Spodek law group. It is such a honor to use them and to use their assistance through this whole case from start to finish. They did everything that they said they was gonna do and if it ever comes down to it, if I ever have to use them again, hands-down they will be the first law office at the top of my list, thank you guys so much. It was a pleasure having you guys by my side so if you guys ever need them, do not hesitate to pick up the phone and give them a call.
Loveth Okpedo
Loveth Okpedo
2024-03-12
Very professional, very transparent, over all a great experience
Bee L
Bee L
2024-02-28
Amazing experience with Spodek! Very professional lawyers who take your case seriously. They treated me with respect, were always available, and answered any and all questions. They were able to help me very successfully and removed a huge stress. Highly recommend.
divesh patel
divesh patel
2024-02-24
I can't recommend Alex Zhik and Spodek Law Firm highly enough for their exceptional legal representation and personal mentorship. From the moment I engaged their services in October 2022, Alex took the time to understand my case thoroughly and provided guidance every step of the way. Alex's dedication to my case went above and beyond my expectations. His expertise, attention to detail, and commitment to achieving the best possible outcome were evident throughout the entire process. He took the time to mentor me, ensuring I understood the legal complexities involved to make informed decisions. Alex is the kind of guy you would want to have a beer with and has made a meaningful impact on me. I also want to acknowledge Todd Spodek, the leader of the firm, who played a crucial role in my case. His leadership and support bolstered the efforts of Alex, and his involvement highlighted the firm's commitment to excellence. Thanks to Alex Zhik and Todd Spodek, I achieved the outcome I desired, and I am incredibly grateful for their professionalism, expertise, and genuine care. If you're in need of legal representation, look no further than this outstanding team.

Common Standards Come Up a Lot

These standards come up ALL THE TIME in federal criminal appeals, on all sorts of issues. Sufficiency of the evidence, interpreting the elements of crimes and defenses, jury instructions, evidentiary rulings, sentencing decisions – you name it. The standard often determines whether the appeal succeeds or gets shot down. So defense lawyers and prosecutors gotta structure their arguments to fit the appropriate standard.

Strategize Based on the Likely Standard

Smart lawyers think about the standard of review before they even file the appeal. Like, if it’s gonna be an uphill battle getting “clear error” on factual issues, maybe focus on legal claims with fresh “de novo” review instead. Or if you know jury instructions get de novo review, attacking those might be a good strategy even if other errors could only get “plain error” or “harmless error” review. Choose your strongest stuff that’ll get the closest, least deferential look from the appeals court.

The Standard Sets the Tone

Not only does the standard control reversals, it also sets the tone of appeals opinions. Like if a ruling gets upheld as “not clearly erroneous” or “harmless error”, the appeals court is kinda saying the trial court screwed up but they’ll allow it. But if it’s reversed “de novo”, that’s the appeals court really laying down the law for the lower court. So pay attention to what verdicts on standards say beyond just the result.

Conclusion

So I hope this give’s you a better handle on what “standard of review” means and why it matters so much! Federal appeals ain’t a retrial – courts can only redo lower court decisions if they were clearly wrong based on the issue and standard. It ain’t easy winning reversals. So study up on standards of review before appealing that conviction or sentence! Let me know if you have any other questions.

Sources

Here are some sources I used for this article:

Lawyers You Can Trust

Todd Spodek

Founding Partner

view profile

RALPH P. FRANCHO, JR

Associate

view profile

JEREMY FEIGENBAUM

Associate Attorney

view profile

ELIZABETH GARVEY

Associate

view profile

CLAIRE BANKS

Associate

view profile

RAJESH BARUA

Of-Counsel

view profile

CHAD LEWIN

Of-Counsel

view profile

Criminal Defense Lawyers Trusted By the Media

schedule a consultation
Schedule Your Consultation Now