NATIONALLY RECOGNIZED FEDERAL LAWYERS
Last Updated on: 5th August 2023, 01:15 am
NY Penal Law § 130.30: Rape in the Second Degree
You will be charged with the sex crime of rape in the second degree under New York Penal Code section 130.30 if you are 18 years old or older and you engage in sexual intercourse with a child who is youngerthan 15 years old, or, regardless of your age, if you engage in sexual intercourse with an individual who is unable to consent due to a mental disability or incapacity. This offense is a class D felony.
A man presents himself to a drama student as a talent agent. He invites her to come to his hotel room to read lines from a script. While she is there, he serves her a glass of wine. Unbeknownst to the student, the man placed some ecstasy in her wine. She woke up later naked in the defendant’s bed at his hotel and came to the realization that he had engaged in sexual intercourse with her. That man could face prosecution for rape in the second degree because he engaged in sexual intercourse with the student while she was intoxicated from the ecstasy. Because she was intoxicated, it can be said tthat she was mentally incapacitated and did not have the ability to consent or decline his advances. The man could also be charged with the crime of facilitating a sex offense with a controlled substance under New York Penal Code section 130.90.
Offenses that are Related
Aggravated sexual abuse in the third degree: New York Penal Code section 130.66
Sexual abuse in the first degree: New York Penal Code section 130.65
Criminal sexual act in the second degree: New York Penal Code section 130.45
Course of sexual conduct against a child in the second degree: New York Penal Code section 130.80
Facilitating a sex offense with a controlled substance: New York Penal Code section 130.90
If you can demonstrate that consent was given by the alleged victim to engage in the sex act, then you cannot be prosecuted for rape in the second degree.
Also, alghtouhg under the statute if you are at least 18, a child under the age of 15 does not have the legal capability to consent to having sex with you, prosecution is not possilble if there is less than a 4 year age difference between you and the other indivicusal .
Since rape in the second degree is a class D felony, if convicted, the judge hs the ability to sentence you to up to 7 years in prison. Because it is also classified as a violent felony offense, the minimum sentence is 2 years behind bars. A portion of your sentence may also be a 10 year probation term.
Registration as a Sex Offender. Additionally, you will be required to register as a sex offender under New York’s Sex Offender Registration Act (SORA). You will be required to follow the registration rules for a minimum of 20 years and perhaps for the rest of your life.