09 Oct 17

220.41 Criminal sale of a controlled substance in the second degree

| by

Last Updated on: 3rd August 2023, 07:38 pm

In New York, you can face charges related to criminal sale of a controlled substance in the second degree if you deliberately and illegally sell a narcotic substance weighing at least 0.5 ounces, a stimulant weighing at least 0.5 ounces, lysergic acid weighing at least 0.5 milligrams and a stimulant weighing at least 0.5 ounces. You will also be convicted if you sell a hallucinogenic substance weighing five grams or more and a methadone weighing 360 milligrams or more.

The criminal sale of a controlled substance in the second degree falls under Penal Code 220.41. The penalty for violating this code is substantiated based on the degree and class of the offense committed. criminal sale of a controlled substance in the second degree is a class A-II felony, one of the serious crimes related to drugs. In order to be convicted of this felony, the prosecutor must prove beyond any reasonable doubts that on a certain date in a particular county in New York, you sold a specific type of drug in violation of the Penal Code 220.41. The prosecutor must also prove from the available evidence that you knowingly and unlawfully sold the drug whose weight exceeds the limits dictated by the code.

Possible Sentences

The State of New York has some of the most severe penalties for Class A felonies. If you are convicted of criminal sale of controlled substance to the second degree, you could face between three to eight years in prison, depending on the facts surrounding your case. You could also face a fine ranging between $1,000 to $50,000. In some cases, especially in scenarios where the sale of the controlled substance leads to a fatality, you may face up to 10 years in prison. If you used a child to transport the controlled substance, or you sold the substance to a person under the age of 17, your prison sentence could increase to 25 years, or worse, you could face a life sentence.

Possible Defense for criminal Sale of a Controlled Substance in the Second Degree

There are some defenses you could explore if you are charged with criminal sale of a controlled substance in the second degree. For example, for a prosecutor to convince the judges that you are guilty, he or she must prove that you knowingly and unlawfully sold a controlled substance. This means they must find you in possession of at least 0.5 ounces of a controlled substance at the time of arrest. Hence, if you had heroin or cannabis weighing 0.4 ounces, you cannot be charged with this crime. The police department must also have a valid course before they search your place for any controlled substance. If they search you for no reason and find a controlled substance, their evidence may not be admissible in court.

Find a Lawyer

While it is possible to defend yourself in court, it is always prudent to hire a lawyer. There are complex legal terms and procedures you may not be able to handle on your own. A lawyer will examine the facts surrounding your case, gather all evidence, brainstorm possible defenses and handle all court proceedings. He will also protect you against the prosecutors and other parties who may want to violate your rights during the case.

When hiring a lawyer, look for someone who specializes in defending people who are facing criminal sale of a controlled substance in the second degree. Such a lawyer will give your case all the attention it deserves. Also, look for someone who has a lot of experience and a good track record in defending people with similar charges.