​Orange County Multiple DUI Defense Lawyer

Orange County Multiple DUI Defense Lawyer

Getting charged with a DUI can be a scary and overwhelming experience. But getting charged with multiple DUIs can feel downright devastating. In Orange County, the District Attorney’s office takes a “zero tolerance” approach to DUIs and pushes hard for convictions, even on 2nd, 3rd and 4th offenses[5].

As a result, it’s absolutely critical to have an experienced DUI defense lawyer on your side if you’re facing multiple DUI charges in Orange County. A knowledgeable attorney can thoroughly examine the details of your case, build strategic defenses, and fight to get your charges reduced or dismissed.

In this article, we’ll provide an overview of multiple DUI charges in Orange County, CA, and how an attorney can defend your rights. We’ll cover:

  • The penalties for 2nd, 3rd and 4th DUI offenses
  • Common defenses against multiple DUI charges
  • Finding the right DUI defense lawyer for your case

Penalties for Multiple DUIs in Orange County

Under California law, DUIs are prosecuted more harshly with each repeated offense. Here’s an overview of the typical penalties for 2nd, 3rd and 4th DUI convictions in Orange County:

Second DUI

A second misdemeanor DUI conviction[6] within 10 years carries penalties including:

  • Up to 1 year in county jail
  • Fines up to $1,000
  • Driver’s license suspension for 1 year
  • Possible ignition interlock device requirement

In addition, a 2nd DUI can be charged as a felony if there was an injury or the driver’s BAC was 0.15% or higher. Felony DUIs face 16 months – 4 years in state prison.

Third DUI

A third DUI offense within 10 years is a minimum 120 days in county jail and fines up to $1,000[3]. Other penalties include:

  • Revoked driver’s license for 3 years
  • Possible ignition interlock device requirement for 1-3 years

Fourth DUI

A fourth DUI conviction within 10 years is a felony in California, with up to 3 years in state prison[2]. Other penalties include:

  • Fines up to $1,000
  • Revoked driver’s license for 4 years
  • Ignition interlock device requirement for 2-4 years

As you can see, the stakes become extremely high with a third or fourth DUI conviction. That’s why it’s critical to fight the charges with an experienced Orange County DUI defense lawyer.

Common Defenses Against Multiple DUI Charges

There are various defenses an attorney can use to fight multiple DUI charges, such as:

  • Invalid traffic stop – If the officer didn’t have probable cause to pull you over, evidence from the invalid stop may be suppressed.
  • Faulty chemical test – Errors in administering breathalyzer or blood tests can invalidate BAC results.
  • Medical conditions – Conditions like diabetes or acid reflux can mimic signs of intoxication.
  • Medication side effects – Prescriptions and over-the-counter meds can also cause false signs.
  • Violation of rights – Any violations of your rights could lead to evidence being thrown out.

An attorney will thoroughly examine every aspect of your arrest to spot potential defenses. Even if they can’t beat the charges completely, they may be able to negotiate reduced penalties or diversion programs.