How to check if my California drivers license is suspended?
How to Check if Your California Driver’s License is Suspended
Having your driver’s license suspended in California can be a frustrating and confusing experience. There are a few different ways you can check on the status of your license to see if it has been suspended.
The easiest way to check if your California driver’s license is suspended is to use the DMV’s online service. You can access it here: https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/driver-licenses-identification-cards/driver-license-records-reports/request-driver-license-records/.To use this service, you will need to create an account or log in if you already have one. There is a $2 fee to check your driver’s license status. Once logged in, you can view your driver’s license record which will show any suspensions, revocations, or other actions taken against your driving privilege.The online service is the fastest and easiest way to check on your license status. However, the record you view online cannot be used as an official document. If you need documented proof of your status, you will need to request a printed record from the DMV.
Check by Mail
To receive an official driver’s license record by mail, you will need to submit a Request for Driver License Records form (INF 1125) along with a $5 fee. This form can be downloaded from the DMV website or picked up in person at your local DMV office.On the form, you’ll need to provide your personal information, driver’s license number, and date of birth. Once completed, mail it to:Department of Motor Vehicles
PO Box 942890
Sacramento, CA 94290-0001Within a few weeks, you will receive your official driver’s license record by mail. This will show any suspensions, revocations, or other actions taken against your license.
Check in Person
You can also check on your driver’s license status by visiting your local DMV office. At the DMV, request a printout of your driver’s license record. There is a $5 fee for this printout.To save time at the DMV, download the Request for Driver License Records form (INF 1125) and fill it out in advance. Bring the completed form with you when you visit the DMV along with your ID and $5 fee.The printout you receive at the DMV provides official documentation of your driver’s license status, including any suspensions or revocations.
Information on Your Driver’s License Record
When you obtain your driver’s license record using any of the above methods, here are some key details it will provide:
- Your current license status, including any suspensions or revocations
- Traffic violations, accidents, and convictions on your driving record
- Any actions taken against your license by the DMV
- Your current address on file
The record will show serious convictions for the past 3, 7, or 10 years depending on the type. It will also include any DMV actions against your license such as suspensions and revocations.One thing the driver’s license record does not include is failures to appear or failures to pay fines for things like traffic tickets. Those types of violations do not result in license suspensions in California.
Common Reasons for Suspension
There are a few common reasons your driver’s license might be suspended in California:
- DUI conviction
- Too many points on your driving record
- Failure to provide proof of insurance
- Failure to pay child support
- Medical condition that affects your ability to drive safely
A DUI conviction generally results in a 4-month suspension for a first offense. Accumulating too many points on your record through traffic violations can also lead to a 6-month suspension.If you fail to provide proof of auto insurance when requested, your license may be suspended until you provide evidence of valid coverage. Failing to pay owed child support can also result in suspension until payments are made.
Penalties for Driving on a Suspended License
It is illegal to drive in California with a suspended driver’s license. The penalties if caught driving on a suspended license include:
- First offense – up to 6 months in jail and/or up to a $1,000 fine
- Second offense within 5 years – 5 days to 1 year in jail and/or a fine of $500 to $2000
In addition to the criminal penalties, driving on a suspended license will also extend your suspension period. Any driving you did during the suspension can be added to the end of your suspension, delaying reinstatement of your license.
Getting Your License Reinstated
To get your license reinstated after a suspension in California, you must:
- Serve out the full suspension period
- Pay a license reissue fee
- Provide proof of insurance (if suspended for lack of insurance)
- Provide proof of child support payments (if suspended for child support issues)
- Pass vision and written tests (if suspended for medical reasons)
Any requirements the court ordered such as DUI programs, traffic school, etc. will also need to be completed before the DMV will reinstate your driving privilege.Once all requirements are met, you can apply for license reinstatement and pay the $55 reissue fee. Driving privileges are not automatically restored without going through the proper application process.
Checking License Status is Important
Having your license suspended can make life very difficult in California. Checking your driver’s license status regularly or if you have reason to believe it may be suspended can help avoid further penalties. If you address any license suspensions promptly, you can get back on the road legally as soon as possible.