NATIONALLY RECOGNIZED FEDERAL LAWYERS
Last Updated on: 5th August 2023, 01:15 am
NY Penal Law § 120.12: Aggravated assault upon a person less than eleven years old
Because injuring a child is considered one of the most serious crimes a person can commit, New York has numerous laws established for the protection of children and to punish those who harm them. One of these statutes is aggravated assault upon a person less than eleven under New York Penal Code § 120.12. You will can be charged and convicted of the crime of aggravated assault upon a person less than eleven years old if:
- You are at least 18 years of age
- You assault a child who is younger than 11 years old
- The child sustains a physical injury as a result of the assault
- You have already been convicted of assaulting a child who is less than 11 years old within the 3 years prior to this offense
This crime is a class E felony offense.
A 21 year old man’s nephew accidentally damages the man’s video game system. The nephew is a 10 year old child. In a rage, the man slaps his nephew across the face, causing the child to suffer a black eye. If, within the prior 3 years, the uncle had been previously convicted of assaulting a child, he could now be facing prosecution for aggravated assault upon a person less than eleven years old.
Offenses that are Related
Reckless assault of a child: New York Penal Code § 120.02
Reckless assault of a child by a child day care provider: New York Penal Code § 120.01
Luring a child: New York Penal Code § 120.70
In order to support a charge of aggravated assault upon a person less than eleven, the child victim must have sustained a physical injury. In other words, the child victim must suffer some sort of impairment of physical condition or have experienced substantial pain as a result of the incident. Therefore, if there is no physical injury as defined by the statute, the prosecutor will have a difficult time securing a conviction against you under New York Penal Code § 120.12.
Self-defense is a possible alternative defense. Under New York law, self-defense is defined as “justification.” If you had a reasonable fear that the child in question had the intention and was attempting to cause your physical harm, you may have ended up injuring the child in an effort to protect yourself. If this is your justification, then the prosecutor may not have a case against you for the charge of aggravated assault upon a person less than eleven years old.
Due to the fact that aggravated assault upon a person less than eleven years old is a class E felony, if convicted, the judge could sentence you to up to 4 years in prison. You might also be ordered to pay a fine of as much as $5,000 and pay restitution to the victim. Additionally, the judge may also issue an order of protection that would prevent you from contacting the victim in the future.